Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Not so easy rider...

2003-07-28 - 9:45 a.m.

On Saturday I purchased my very first motorcycle.

I am so excited as will now be cool bikie chick. Granted the whole 100 ccs of grunt are not likely to earn me the title Speed Demon, but it is a very cute bike. 1973 it was built, it's older than me! Ha! (this also helps make me feel younger!) This lil bike saw the demise of Elvis, saw the Watergate scandal and ... well, I'm sure a bunch of other exciting stuff that happend between 1973 and 1977!

And being a ripe old 30 years of age, my lil bike needs a bit of work to get back to her former spritely self. So I plan to get my hands dirty and learn the workings of my new machine. I have visions of myself in bonds singlets and overalls, precise grease marks on my face, hair unkepmt and wiping the sweat from my brow with the back of my hand. After a hard day's mechanical ... um ... stuff, I will chug on a cold beer and talk to other blokes about my bike "purring like a kitten".

Yes, that's just how it will be.

To aid in this transformation of myself, I will employ the services of a book called Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance. This book will inspire me to learn all about the workings of the bike by understanding the philosophy behind it all.

I am hoping that this carefully constructed fantasy will allow me to at least stay interested in fixing the bike until I get it on the road.

Why deny it, I really am such a girl sometimes!

Vrmmmm, vrmmmmm!

previous - next

i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!