Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Embracing my inner girly girl

2003-07-31 - 9:25 a.m.

ok, so before i start reading Zen, I will just finish off this 'chick lit' book i am currently devouring like a melting block of Cadbury's Snack.

It is not often my thing to buy trashy girly novels (I always buy books taking into account what the person behind the bookshop counter thinks of my purchase, as do I always think of the opinion of my fellow commuters on my choice of reading matter - this, of course, also applies to videos ... but I digress), hence, I try to read books that people will peek at and think, 'My she's well read!'. Yes, I can be that shallow! Naturally, I do the same to other people's books.

But I bought this book, Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keyes, in a moment of weakness - feeling sorry for myself and with a death by chocolate wish and now I can't put it down.

When I think I can predict the transparent plot, the characters do a full 180 on me and I am surprised and intrigued by them. So I am beginning to see past the particularly girly characters leading girly lives, filled with girly nonsense disasters to a pretty good story.

Yes, I am coming to terms with my inner girly trash novel tendencies.

Then I will read Zen.

previous - next

i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!