Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Robots in disguise

2003-10-01 - 4:40 p.m.

The other day I was on my way home from work, wedged on a crowded tram while it drizzled outside - desperate to get far away from work as quickly as possible. Then my mobile rang. It was my friend asking a very BIG favour - could I get off the tram, head back into the city and pick up a VERY IMPORTANT comic book for him that the comic book guy had only four copies of, simply could not hold one of, and wouldn't be getting anymore in of.

I begrudgingly agreed. I caught the next tram back into the city and found said comic book store. I walked inside and saw the comic book guy. Now, here I would love to say that he looked just like the comic book guy from the Simpsons, but he didn't. He just looked like a slightly geeky-cool comic book fan, and really rather cute.

COMIC BOOK GUY: [before i have even opened my mouth]

Brad sent you, didn't he. [this was not a question]

ME: Err, yes. I hear you have Brad's package. [yes, this really was trying to sound as suggestive as it does here!]

CBG: What is in the package?

ME: I don't know he just said you'd have it for him. [at this point i am beginning to get worried, surely i didn't make this trip for nothing]

CBG: How will I know you aren't working for someone else?

ME: [Oh Christ!] I really don't care that much.

CBG: Hmmm. Alright then, I think I can trust you.

ME: Oh good. [I am trying to be droll]

[CBG then proceeds to go to a shelf in the store where sits a HUGE PILE of Transformer comic books. He hands me one.]

CBG: That will be $10.50

ME: Are you serious? For this shitty little comic book? You must be joking! When I was a kid, the CFA drove around the streets at Christmas and Santa used to throw these things at us for free! [ok, no, I didn't say that. I just gave him the money.]

CGB: May the force be with you. [ok, no, he didn't say that either, but it would have been funny if he did.]

I got my own back when my friend called again and I told him they had sold out. He was ready to end it all there and then.

Sometimes I think they are from another planet.

previous - next

i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!